Movie Ticket 2008 – Iron Man

This is my first time in theater for the year 2008 and probably the only time.  Its been a long time since I was in and out the movie theater to watch film.  Since 2001, I have been to theater only once a year.  Thank you to a program in our company called Time Out.  It’s an employee event wherein those who celebrated their birthday for particular months are treated for some snacks and free movie.  The company usually closes the theater and makes the screening exclusive to employees.

I don’t know why I suddenly lost the urge to watch movies in theater.  I’d like to blame VCDs and DVDs… they make watching movies convenient right at your own home and whatever time of day you want.  There are some movies which I would really like to watch on big screen but almost always missed them and have the handy reason… it will soon come out in VCD or DVD.  I think its also because watching movies is a dating activity for me regardless if with friends, family members or loved ones; now everybody seems to be busy and could not find time to do so.

Today I got to see Iron Man the movie.  This marvel comic hero stars Robert Downey and Gwyneth Paltrow.  Not minding how real or how unreal the movie is since it is based on comic story, the cinematography and design of the film was great. I bet the producer spent millions in budget to come out with such effects and scenes.  It is so hi-tech that Stark (played by Downey) who is brilliant in creating machines, weapons, arms etc. has machines/robots as assistants.  Cool isn’t it?  They are not plain robots because they interact with Stark, they talk as if it can sense what Stark feels or needs.

Iron Man the Movie 2008

I love it that there is not much focus on love interest … so the story revolved around the making of Iron Man.  The movie is likewise light as there are some lines and scenes that made the audience laughed.  I specially liked the part when Pepper (played by Paltrow) said to one of the lady flings (Stark being so famous frequently engaged in a one night stand) that as Stark’s assistant she even at times comes to pick up his trash.  Starks talks a lot to his assistants in the lab and the robots are able to talk back or act in anticipation — very human indeed.  This in most cases stirs a little laugh specially when the robots appears to be too intelligent by acting in advance.  Also, even if the story is about terrorism, killings were not done in a manner that will make you puke or close your eyes.

I am not a big fan of Math and Science so hearing all those calculations, experiements, elements etc. just made me say to my mind whew cool~  I guess Downey performed a good job in palying the role of Stark, I am glad he has recovered from rumored addiction (if true as he lost so much weight then) and his body is well buffed.  He has aged but definitely did not lose that great bod.  I last saw him big screen from a movie opposite Marissa Tomei, entitled Only You.  Ironically, Iron Man Downey in that movie is very neat and clean looking. 

Overall, Iron Man is something entertaining, its fancy  but not boring.

Leave a Reply

