Binibining Pilipinas Boo Boo

I was having the vacation with my teammates in Dakak when the Binibining Pilipinas 2008 Pageant was aired live on national television over GMA-7.  I don’t know if I have to regret not going back to my room to watch the pageant because there was a MasterCard* event that happened during the question and answer portion. 

The stupid lady who bagged the Ms. World title happened to be the major player in that boo boo.  Being a Filipina, I am definitely sure this is not the kind of representation that I want to have in the international arena.  The classic saying goes ‘what is beauty if the brain is empty’.  The 17 year old UE student, Janina San Miguel is a living testimony to this cliche’.   The grammar is so terrible and she never uttered a sensible answer in phrase (because composing a statement impromptu might be an XTRA challenge to her).

I also don’t know what is wrong with the judges, how can this lady get away with a title given that very senseless answer.   Perhaps the Q&A is just 5% of the total scoring? This ridiculuous beauty pageants are now sticking to what the name suggests.

Here is the transcription of that event:

Paolo Bediones: Janina, how are you?
Janina San Miguel: I’m fine.
Paolo Bediones: Alright, so you won two of the major awards – Best in Long Gown, Best in Swimsuit, do you feel any pressure right now?
Janina San Miguel: No, I don’t feel any pressure right now.
Paolo Bediones: Confident! Alright! Please choose a name of the judge.
Paolo Bediones: We have Miss Vivienne Tan.
Vivienne Tan: Good Evening.
Janina San Miguel: Good Evening.
Vivienne Tan: The question is, what role did your family play to you as candidate to Binibining Pilinas?
Janina San Miguel: Well, my family’s role for me is so important b’coz there was the wa- they’re, they was the one who’s… very… Hahahaha… Oh I’m so sorry, Ahhmm… My pamily… My family… Oh my god… I’m… Ok, I’m so sorry… I… I told you that I’m so confident… Eto, Ahhmm, Wait… Hahahaha, Ahmmm, Sorry guys because this was really my first pageant ever b’coz I’m only 17 years old and ahahaha I, I did not expect that I came from, I came from one of the top 10. Hmmm, so… but I said that my family is the most important persons in my life. Thank you.
<ARGH>

*MasterCard events are priceless moments, no amount of money can buy the shame

1 Comment »

  1. urma delantin Said:

    Actually, Filipinos should stop asking why every year, it always happen that winners are chosen politically.

    I was there in Araneta coliseum in 2001 and really shocked how finalists were chosen. There were some stunning beauties who didn’t even made it to the finalists. So shocked that winners announced didn’t have confidence in answering the question and answer portion. Audience booed those 3 winners but the judges didn’t care. It is true that several of those who won have backers, of whom a certain candidate know. Not surprisingly, when being sent to international pageants, international judges don’t notice them because most of them are just plain looking.

    Miriam Quiambao has the quality by just looking at her, so people believed that she made it. But before that she just replaced the real zorayda sanchez look alike american grown not able to prove filipino citizenship.

    Ruffa Gutierrez though won Miss World 2nd runner up could have been in the Miss Universe.

    Are there any new born franchise holder for international competitions? So to replace this present political franchise holder.

    So pity for deserving candidates every year who could have won the international title.

    Philippine beauty has declined in the Miss Universe because of undeserving delegate. Filipino people are just unified in the internet voting for photogenic award in support of their country’s representative.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

