Gyudon ala Yoshinoya

I am really not a fan of Japanese cuisine but when we were in Hongkong in 2004, Yoshinoya seems to be everywhere.  So I ended up trying their famous beef bowl.  To my surprise, it’s not as heavy as how a terriyaki tastes.  (Terriyaki is something that I eat ocassionally — the taste is to heavy for me. I couldn’t find the words to better describe it).   This is how I feel in love with Gyudon.  I have tried it in every Japanese restaurant I have been to and nothing compares to that of Yoshinoya.  Gyudon has a delicate flavor, it has a light sweet and salty taste which is tempered by some sort of a very light sour taste.

Few weeks ago, I downloaded this beef bowl recipe from the internet.  I immediately tried it.  I bought the ingredients which are not hard to find anyway.  Amazingly, the taste is so close to Yoshinoya’s Gyudon.   I am so lucky to get this recipe, other food recipes that I downloaded were like ‘better luck next time’.  Thanks to www.about.com this is where I got it.

Preparing Gyudon was so easy.  You just need the following:

  • 1/2 kl. thinly sliced beef
  • 1 white onion thinly sliced
  • 1 1/3 cup of dashi (Japanese soup stock)
  • 5 tbsps soy souce (Japanese brand — kikkoman is the best)
  • 3 tbsps mirin
  • 2 tbsps sugar
  • 1 tsp sake (Japanese white wine)

Add all the ingredients in a pan except for the beef and onions. Simmer ingredients then add beef.  Simmer again until beef is tender.  Add onions before putting off the fire. Of course this is best served on top of steamed japanese rice.

This is really a must try at home.  Now I feel like eating Gyudon again after making this post.

2 Comments »

  1. Dan-na Said:

    this is the perfect. check it out!
    http://blogs.yahoo.co.jp/smilestreet/28768509.html

    thank you!

    Dan-na

  2. I seldom write comments, but i did some searching and wound up here Gyudon ala Yoshinoya | My Other World.
    And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it appear like some of the comments come across like they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

