Don’t Say Goodbye, Say Goodnight (another LSS)

I have been listening to this song for the longest time.  Suddenly I had to check what the song means.  Initially with the title, I always think of this song as something that describes a guy’s situation.  Someone who wants to hear goodnight instead or goodbye after, probably a date.   

I happen to be listening to this song while answering an email from my good language exchange partner      진명.  Since the song is really cool, I sent it to him.  I think listening to songs will improve your language proficiency in some ways.  I have been doing this in the light of learning 한글 and 한극.   Few days after, he replied to my email saying he liked the song even if he couldn’t understand some of the lyrics because of the long pronunciation.  He said it talks about parting, consequently asks if it is so. I suddenly find my self understanding the song deeper so I would be able to reply appropriately.

I think the song is about parting.  Yes this is true but I think it’s really not the guy who is parting with someone he loves.  Using the point of view of the one singing the song as the guy involved in the story of the song, I think he is trying to console a friend.Reading the first stanza gives you the thought that the girls is beside the guy.  She is probably crying on his shoulder and the guy hates to see the girl this way.

I don’t wanna run beneath your tears. I don’t wanna catch them when they’re falling,  but it’s the same old song playing over… and over

The guy is consoling the girl who is always by her side.  And the guy is telling the girl a lie…. That she should say goodnight instead of goodbye.  In reality he wants her to say goodbye to the lover. My imagination would like to step a little further…. The guy secretly loves his friend or we can go back to the basics….that this song is for the typical guy who finds it hard to say goodbye to their girlfriends. 

My creative hormones are overflowing… what am I thinking hehehehe.   Here is the complete lyrics of the song.. another LSS: 

Don’t Say Goodbye, Say Good Night   (Binocular)

I lie awake and feel your nearness I never wanted more than this

I don’t wanna run beneath your tear

I don’t wanna catch them when they ‘re falling

But its the same old song playing over and over 

But now I lie upon my face and though we tried

I guess that’s the way its suppose to be

Don’t say goodbye, say goodnight so its not over

and if you try and answer why, its just over… its goodbye 

I hope to see the dawn of daybreak and the sunrise to cloudless skies

And now I’ve tried to see the truth but I close my eyes

You were there for me and I was there for you 

Don’t say goodbye, say goodnight so its not over

and if you try and answer why, its just over… its goodbye

But now I lie upon my face and though we tried

I guess that’s the way its suppose to be  

Don’t say goodbye, say goodnight so its not over

and if you try and answer why, its just over  it’s goodbye… it’s goodbye

Leave a Reply

