Trying Hard on Hangul

I don’t have plans on migrating to Korea but my desire to learn Hangul is so high.  After buying books (which is so scarce here)… the next thing that I wanted to do is enroll on a language school.  It’s been a couple of months since I started doing self study on Hangul.  I have learned basic reading and writing of the script but not necessarily understanding the words.  Well at least i learned how to write my name properly but my next ambitiuous goal… improving my comprehension.

Jane in HangulI know that Hangul is kinda difficult you have to be mindful on what word to use because there is such thing as honorific and casual but polite when you speak. This is driving me crazy.  I wanted to know how words are formed and how sentences are structured.  Recently I chanced upon this web site called MyLanguageExchange.  Whew it was such a wonderful website for a Language Enthusiast like me.  I immediately joined and started on emailing some Korean who wishes to learn English in return.Right now I have 3 language exchange partners.  Like a gas to a fire… they are fuelling my interest to learn more everyday.   It was a rich experience to learn another language and to be able to teach someone in exchange.  My first question was to solve my curiosity on why names are pronounced differently from how they are spelled.  I noticed that ‘ah’ seems to be a regular suffix to names during conversation (on dramas and movies that I watched of course).  My good friend in the language exchange told me that this is some sort of politeness by Koreans.  Names are pronounced with ‘ah’ sound in the end if the last letter is consonant (in the Hangul script that is) and with a ‘yah’ if the name ends with a vowel letter.  I was so happy to know this.  For the longest time I am so curious about it.  I thought I am reading the script wrongly. Recently, I have been head over heels listening to se7en. Until now the CD is played on and on in my car.  I started asking my language partner about some words from se7en’s song.  Since I am so into Wajuo (aka Comeback) I asked how it is different from Dorawajuo?  This is what I learned.  Wajuo means come back or come on while Dorawajuo means come back here. Interestingly,

Wa – means come back, it is the root word

Dorawa – means come back here

JUO which is common to both word is an honorific marker which in this case would translate to please (I have some theories in mind…well I have to establish the truth behind this so my quest to learn Hangul continuous).

Here is another learning… you can just say Dorawa or Wa but this is on casual conversation. You have to say Dorawajuseyo or Wajuseyo if you wanted to be polite. It’s really getting pretty exciting for me.  I feel fulfilled learning this bit of information.  I don’t know how many Kamsahamnida or Komapsumnida should I say to my language exchange partners they bring joy to me with their replies on my questions.

5 Comments »

  1. koreastudenten Said:

    Hi Jane

    토머스에요. I’m from Denmark and just started learning hangul a couple of days ago. Fun to read about others doing the same. Perhaps I will check out MyLanguageExchange, when I’m able to put more than two words together.

    Keep trying hard!

  2. janeybei Said:

    안녕하세요
    Thanks for dropping by this site. 아자

  3. soo jin Said:

    your name’s jane right? ’cause i read it above written in korean characters… and i think your good…

  4. janeybei Said:

    감사합니다. 네, 이름은 제인 이에요.
    Thanks for visiting this site 🙂 I am really not good yet in Korean… i wish to be one.

  5. Lucy Said:

    Hello:) I was just looking for a word processor in Hangul
    and I found your posting which is very interesting to me.
    I’m Korean, studying in Canada.
    I’m glad to your enthusiasm to learning Korean!
    Gomawua 🙂
    Fighting!!!<< I know that it doesn’t make sense, but it’s kind a Konglish(Korean+English). We use this if you want to say “Cheer Up!”


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

